First Build, First Post, First Questions - Tarot Ironman 650

Discussion in 'General Discussions and Intros' started by JeremyMcG1, May 11, 2016.

1. JeremyMcG1

JeremyMcG1 New Member

May 11, 2016
    Male
    Greetings - Jeremy from Las Vegas checking in.

I've been coerced into building a quadcopter. I am coming from this from a complete non-existent knowledge base regarding quadcopters, but I am a licensed pilot and know a little about flight dynamics and such - but I learn quickly and I tend to dive into things head first and learn how to swim later - just my personality...

Anyway, I decided not to start small and purchased a Tarot Ironman 650 FPV frame to start my build with.

After approximately 3 days and nights of studying, learning math, power curves, propeller efficiencies and such, I've come up with a list that I ---believe-- to be what I want that can perform the way I want it to:

Tarot Ironman 650 FPV
    -- extended 500mm arms for added width
    Sunnysky x4110S 340kv motors
    DYS BL30A Speed Controllers
    1 Lion Power 6S 25C 10400 mAh battery
    Pixhawk PX4 + NEO-MN8 Telemetry OSD (will utilize mission planner)
    Fatshark 600TVL 100 degree CMOS camera
    Boscam TS832 for Video TX

What I haven't picked yet are the propellers - and I won't until the quadcopter is ready to fly as I am preventing myself from either cutting off a finger, being stupid and flying it in my living room, or being too anxious and flying outside before --I-- am ready to fly it.

My questions should be easy, if not, my apologies in advance:

1) All of my math is saying that I will have +/- 40 minutes of flight time (18" propellers) with this configuration - does that sound correct for the parts list above?

2) Did I goof by using a 30A speed controller instead of a 40A? Seeing as how this will primarily be used with programmed missions and very little joystick control I opted for the 30A...was that a mistake?