Hello, new to the world of drones

Discussion in 'General Discussions and Intros' started by SteCarey, Jan 21, 2016.

1. SteCarey

SteCarey New Member

Jan 21, 2016
    Male
    hello all, someone from reddit sent me here, so if you dont mind ill copy the same question i posted there to here

im new to the whole drone thing but ive started to look into it and i have a few questions and i was wondering if either anyone here would be able to help me or send me somewhere to get some answers

ive read alot of the CAA rules and regs, but 90% of it seems like Latin to me.

so im booked onto a CAA aproved training course (Commercial Drone Training, a residential course in which they do all the tests and operation manual writing workshops) but i was just wondering if anyone can give me some helpful tips for control of a drone, im currently using a £90 Maplins N43DS camera drone, its very basic but its helping me get to grips with basic controls and maneuvers.

but i was hoping someone could give me some helps on stuff to research to give me a helping hand/edge for when it comes to this course as theory tests are never really my forte. and/or some helpful control techniques

2. Jonathan

Jonathan Drone Expert
    Crew

Aug 31, 2013
    Male
    Drone Aerial Photographer
    York
    Hi, who is the course with? I didn't know there were any residential courses. Anyway, the theory part shouldn't be that bad, it's not there to try and catch you out. You typically spend a day/day and a half learning about various regulations and a bit of basic aviation map reading, then do a test based on what you've been told. It's actually quite interesting really. If you can afford it you'd be much better off getting a dji phantom 3 to fly with and do your test with.

3. SteCarey

SteCarey New Member

Jan 21, 2016
    Male